In 2007, Rochester University established an annual award to honor those who have modeled sacrificial service and philanthropic generosity for others in support of the university. This award was named after J. Robert and Mary Utley because of their steadfast commitment to scholarship and service.

In recognition of their philanthropic spirit and commitment to community, this year’s award is presented to Chief Financial Credit Union.

Beyond its reputation in the greater metro Detroit area as “a credit union that’s more than money,” Chief Financial is deeply rooted in our community and serves as an exceptional model of local values and philanthropic spirit.

Chief Financial moved its headquarters to the Rochester area in 2015, and ever since, it has actively engaged in local community events, supported education at every level, partnered alongside countless nonprofits, and engaged with the community as a whole to empower financial success. The Chief Financial team is committed to inspiring strategic partnerships between its employees, members and the greater Rochester community. Chief Financial’s aim to boldly be forever remembered for the good it does, the chances it gives, the opportunities it creates, and the lives it has changed has already been fulfilled in the five short years it has been part of our community. They are not even close to stopping!

Chief Financial is not just another credit union. Through our partnership, the Chief Financial team has cared for RU students who were in crisis, providing a loan after a student was in a car accident that totaled her car. The team has educated our students on taking on credit card debt while in college and worked one-on-one with a student who has medical debt. Chief Financial has helped us create a plan for future sponsored events and new facilities, but most importantly, the team is always willing to be present. The Chief Financial team is consistent and caring in its approach, and RU cannot think of a better organization to receive the 2020 Philanthropist of the Year award.